I See Fire

So, January is the most depressing time of the year, according to science (The Sciencey Book of Science, Page Science, Science Press, coauthored by Science and Science). It’s dark; it’s been bloody cold (is Polar Vortex a SyFy movie yet?); and, I don’t know about you, but things have been hard for me and a lot of my friends.
This cover of Ed Sheeran’s “I See Fire” from The Hobbit 2: The Desolation of Smaug, performed by Peter Hollens made me feel just a little bit better. (Totes related to this blog btw because The Hobbit is a banned book. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.) Peter Hollens is fabulous and has done epic videos with dubstep violinist Lindsey Stirling. His cover of the Skyrim theme is what I play when I need to kick ass and take names. Usually this involves cleaning or writing or jumping around my room pretending to kill dragons.
Anyway, I thought maybe it might bring a little cheer to some of you lovely people too. For the night is dark and full of terrors, but the fire burns them all away…

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About boundandgaggedbooks

Shannon is a freelance writer and folklore buff. She has a degree from Hampshire College in Creative Writing/Mythology & Religion, with an emphasis on epic/oral traditions, their anthropological implications, and their modern counterparts. Her work can be found in Fabulously Feminist, Wolf Wariors: The National Wolfwatcher Coalition Anthology, The Concord Monitor, Redhead Magazine, and The Climax.

4 responses to “I See Fire”

  1. Hopeje says :

    You do have a beautiful writting’!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Peter Hollens Beautiful Rendition of “I See Fire” | The Leather Library - February 2, 2014

Leave a Reply

