Bookwyrms

Céad míle fáilte, my good readers. As you may have noticed, a new writer has joined the Bound and Gagged Books family. Since I have sworn never again to read The Great Gatsby (the battle fatigue of one too many literature courses), my friend and longtime writing buddy, C. Oberholtzer volunteered as tribute. Join me in welcoming them to our strange little corner of the internet. You can read their review of The Great Gatsby here and check out their bio on the About page.

In other housekeeping news, I’ve been trying to be a little less YA heavy in the books we review, which has been somewhat hard as many of the more frequently banned books (especially those with movie adaptations in the works) are YA. The genre does seem to be the lightning rod of censorship. So to spice things up, I’ll be detouring into Fantasy/Sci-Fi and graphic novels this summer, as that seems to be the next biggest fish to fry.

If you’re not a fan of the oft-maligned “genre fiction” (dun dun dun), perhaps I can change your mind. And please do stick with me because no doubt some other genre will sneak in here and there. If you’re an avid fan like myself, I’d love to hear your recommendations, requests, nerdgasms, or judgment. Especially the comic fans out there. I’m always looking to expand my comic book/graphic novel horizons so your suggestions are most welcome.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About boundandgaggedbooks

Shannon is a freelance writer and folklore buff. She has a degree from Hampshire College in Creative Writing/Mythology & Religion, with an emphasis on epic/oral traditions, their anthropological implications, and their modern counterparts. Her work can be found in Fabulously Feminist, Wolf Wariors: The National Wolfwatcher Coalition Anthology, The Concord Monitor, Redhead Magazine, and The Climax.

3 responses to “Bookwyrms”

  1. nightwing17 says :

    There are plenty of great graphic novels in all sorts of genres but limiting ourselves to the banned, censored, or challenged, there are a few that come to mind.

    Watchmen is, of course one of the first to come to mind, due to its reputation as a cornerstone of the graphic novel medium. While it has dulled with age, it’s hard to argue that it isn’t a truly literary work, requiring critical thinking and close attention to process all that Moore was doing in each page.

    Alan Moore also found his work challenged in the case of League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: The Black Dossier. I’ve only read the original two volumes of LoEG, but they seem like your kind of comic. I also admit that my first thought on hearing of this was, “only Black Dossier?” This is, after all, a series that introduces one of it’s principal cast serially raping young girls at a boarding school run by a dominatrix. I don’t know if the standard League of Extraordinary Gentlemen has been banned or you feel comfortable reviewing them by association but I think they’re worth your time anyway.

    Maus was actually challenged in 2011 by a Polish-American who has reportedly been very selective in what works regarding Polish history he wants his library stocking…so yeah.

    I imagine that youl find all kinds of autobiographical comics banned.

    I’d also mention that Amazing Spider-Man: Revelations by J. Michael Straczynski has apparently been banned. I’ve not read any of J.M.S.’s Spider-Man work, but I know that he was both controversial and beloved for proactively tacking the ‘problem’ of Peter and Mary-Jane’s marriage. Given that it was banned for sexual content it wouldn’t surprise me if the volume contains some Spider-marriage goodness.

    Finally, if you’re hankering for some more Saga, there was some controversy a while back when issue #12 was excluded from the iTunes store. If I recall correctly, apple blamed comixology who said they were trying to follow Apple’s guidelines. I don’t remember if the consensus was that it was an attempt to save face or an example of how censorship thrives when people try to pander to a ‘silent majority’ but it was a lot of ruckus for an image on Prince Robot’s face in one panel.

    • boundandgaggedbooks says :

      More Saga controversy? I’m not surprised, but I’m continually baffled by what people choose to be upset by. And Spider-man banned? I’ll definitely have to check that out. I’ve been meaning to do Maus as well. I’m once again baffled though. A Polish American banned it? Bizarre. Watchmen is definitely on my to-read list and I’d love to tackle the movie. How far into the LoEG series is Black Dossier and/or can I read it without prior knowledge?

    • boundandgaggedbooks says :

      Thank you for all of your suggestions! And thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

