We’re Dumbledore’s Army

I recently stumbled across this image. I don’t know where it’s from or even if it’s real. But this person is my hero.

20130322-222424.jpg

We salute you, Nekochan. Keep up the good work.

And I would be right there with them. See, I’ve always been a good kid who’s paranoid about getting in trouble or breaking the rules. But tell me I can’t read something or say something or write about something and the stick-it-to-Umbridge rebel inside me takes over. Then I have to read Lady Chatterly’s Lover or write a paper about abortion or wear my beaded headscarf to middle school just because they said I couldn’t. Perhaps it’s from growing up in the state of Live Free or Die. Perhaps it’s from reading Number The Stars, Robin Hood, Harry Potter, and A Wrinkle In Time in my formative years. Whatever the reason, I simply will not stand for people, especially teachers, telling people what to say, what to read, and what to think. School is supposed to be a place of learning, not a task force to keep knowledge out of people’s hands.

It seems I’m not alone. Like Umbridge’s crusade against The Quibbler, banning a book is often a surefire way to ensure that it will be read. So, I thought I’d ask for your stories today. Were there books at your school you weren’t allowed to read? Did they refuse to display a classmate’s artwork because of objectionable content? Did your teacher get in trouble for breaking the news about 9/11? Were there subjects you couldn’t learn about? Projects you couldn’t do? Did you read a book or watch a movie because someone wouldn’t let you or told you not to? Tell me your story.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About boundandgaggedbooks

Shannon is a freelance writer and folklore buff. She has a degree from Hampshire College in Creative Writing/Mythology & Religion, with an emphasis on epic/oral traditions, their anthropological implications, and their modern counterparts. Her work can be found in Fabulously Feminist, Wolf Wariors: The National Wolfwatcher Coalition Anthology, The Concord Monitor, Redhead Magazine, and The Climax.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Stickin’ It to the Ban | Bound and Gagged - September 27, 2014

Leave a Reply

