When Tiger Eyes Are Smiling

Excellent news, my banned brethren! As some of you may know, Judy Blume’s banned classic, Tiger Eyes, was recently made into a movie. The film was directed by Judy Blume’s son, Lawrence Blume, co-written by Lawrence and Judy, and stars the swoon-worthy Tatanka Means and Willa Holland (who some of you might know as a gender-bending Speedy on Arrow). As Lawrence Blume is an alumnus of my alma mater, I had the good fortune to see an advanced screening of the movie and chat him up about it. It truly is an outstanding film. I laughed, I cried, and holy gods did I swoon. Don’t judge me. At least Wolf’s hair is real, unlike a certain pseudo-Native American heartthrob. *cough cough Jacob Black*

Which brings me to the fabulous news! Tiger Eyes finally has a big screen release date! Which means all of you can see it! Seeee iiiiiit.

http://insidemovies.ew.com/2013/03/11/judy-blumes-tiger-eyes-coming-to-big-screen-and-v-o-d-on-june-7-exclusive/

The book has faced its fair share of censorship for a number of reasons and was censored even before publication due to a female masturbation scene that was left on the publishing room floor (more on that to come in my actual review). I’ve been meaning to review it on this blog since I really want to tell you all how awesome the movie is. I actually just ordered the book last week, but I think I shall save my review until the movie’s big screen debut so as not to spoil it for anyone.

So… Tiger Eyes: coming soon to silver screen and computer screen near you.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About boundandgaggedbooks

Shannon is a freelance writer and folklore buff. She has a degree from Hampshire College in Creative Writing/Mythology & Religion, with an emphasis on epic/oral traditions, their anthropological implications, and their modern counterparts. Her work can be found in Fabulously Feminist, Wolf Wariors: The National Wolfwatcher Coalition Anthology, The Concord Monitor, Redhead Magazine, and The Climax.

Leave a Reply

