Award Night

Hello, dear readers! As you may have read, Bound and Gagged has recently celebrated its six month anniversary. So it was lovely to see that the extremely talented Callie Garp, feminist artist extraordinaire, has nominated me for the Very Inspiring Blog Award. If anyone I have nominated does not wish to partake, no problemo. I thought, at the very least, this award would be a nice way to give a shout out to the awesome blogs out there.

 

Image

I beat Meryl?

 

Here are the rules:

1. Display the award logo on your blog.

2. Link back to the person who nominated you.

3. State seven things about yourself.

4. Nominate fifteen other bloggers for this award and link to them.

5. Notify those bloggers of the nomination and the award’s requirements.

 

So, I suppose this is where I tell you seven things about myself.

1. The memory part of my brain is larger than in average humans. I have the scan to prove it. If only I could harness this for something other than useless factoids.

2. I have a fear of ceramic penguins due to the movie Misery. Don’t judge me ’til you watch it.

3. I can recite Eddie Izzard in Old Norse.

4. I hated my prominent nose until LOTR hit theatres and Cate Blanchett had my nose. If a badass Elven queen like Galadriel could rock it, so could I. I now wear it as a badge of honor.

5. I have read four different translations of the Rāmāyaṇa, as well as numerous oral variations and modern retellings. Anthropology student, ho!

6. I am related to Aaron Burr and Louisa May Alcott.

7. When I was a kid, my goal was to win the Iditarod Dog Sled Race. Or to be one of those people who lives with wolves for ten years. Needless to say I gave up on that dream.

 

My Nominations:

Callie Garp

Reviews by Lantern’s Light

Un.Cohesion

Archimedes’ Fulcrum

Henchman-4-Hire

OIF Blog

theatre notes

Preservation in Pink

Youth Literature Reviews

The Broke and the Bookish

the librarian who doesn’t say shhh

Harry Potter Fandom

San Antonio Public Library

Turtle And Robot

pubs and proteins

Tags: ,

About boundandgaggedbooks

Shannon is a freelance writer and folklore buff. She has a degree from Hampshire College in Creative Writing/Mythology & Religion, with an emphasis on epic/oral traditions, their anthropological implications, and their modern counterparts. Her work can be found in Fabulously Feminist, Wolf Wariors: The National Wolfwatcher Coalition Anthology, The Concord Monitor, Redhead Magazine, and The Climax.

Leave a Reply

