Stocking Stuffers

He’s making a list. Checking it twice. Ah, if only I were as efficient an editor/proof-reader as Kris Kringle. I’ve edited my novel at least a dozen times. ::lesigh::

Anyway, it’s Friday and that means it’s time for FridayReads. I thought since the holiday season is drawing to a close I might mix it up a bit. Did you get any books for Christmas, Chanukah, Yule, Festivus, etc? Tell me what you got! And/or, as always, tell me what you’re reading (novel, biography, play, comic book, takeout menu, I don’t judge).

Tags:

About boundandgaggedbooks

Shannon is a freelance writer and folklore buff. She has a degree from Hampshire College in Creative Writing/Mythology & Religion, with an emphasis on epic/oral traditions, their anthropological implications, and their modern counterparts. Her work can be found in Fabulously Feminist, Wolf Wariors: The National Wolfwatcher Coalition Anthology, The Concord Monitor, Redhead Magazine, and The Climax.

8 responses to “Stocking Stuffers”

  1. nightwing17 says :

    Indeed, I did get books for Hanukah!

    I got both The Fault in Our Stars and The Complete Dinosaur 2nd Edition. These gifts put me well on the way to having an informed opinion of John Green’s writing and being able to read The Dinosauria, most excellently named of professional reference materials! They also seem to inspire a lot of exclamation points!

    As for my current reading, Christmas travel has put a bit of a halt on that, but, nonetheless, I am currently reading The Time Machine by H.G. Wells while also investigating The Dragon in Chains by Daniel Fox, who won my attention with a delightful dedication.

    • boundandgaggedbooks says :

      Sweet! I’ve been meaning to read The Fault in Our Stars. I wasn’t a fan of Looking for Alaska, but I’m more than happy to give John Green another try. You’ll have to let me know what you think of it. Also, The Complete Dinosaur looks intense. You could bludgeon someone to death with that thing. Hats off to your ambition, sir.

      • nightwing17 says :

        I haven’t gotten to TFiOS or Looking for Alaska yet, but I did read An Abundance of Katherines. Lacking any context for John Green’s work outside of that book, I can’t say why it’s widely considered the worst of his books but I found it to be quite good. I either would have loved his books when I was a teenager or been bored by their subject matter. Then again I’m still pretty bored by his subject matter in most cases, so my hat off to him.

        As for The Complete Dinosaur, I look forward to learning the full Latin names of each species of dromaeosaurid that is smaller than this book.

      • boundandgaggedbooks says :

        Haven’t read An Abundance of Katherines yet. I was planning on skipping it, but maybe I’ll give it a shot.

      • nightwing17 says :

        I am aware of the logical flaws in the last sentence of my previous post but didn’t want to ruin it.

  2. Bryan says :

    I got Dance with Dragons with a visa gift card my grandparents got me.

Leave a Reply

