And The Banned Played On

Bienvenidos, readers. I’ll have the movie review of The Perks of Being a Wallflower up sometime this weekend, rest assured. However, I worry the ‘defense’ part of my reviews have become somewhat similar. Given that the reasons for banning the books have been similar, I’m not quite sure what to do about that.

In an attempt to break up the monotony of books banned for sex, drugs, and rock and roll, I’ll try to steer clear of teen lit for a while. I’m planning on doing the beloved children’s book Strega Nona next Friday and then perhaps dip into more classic literature (although those tend to be banned due to fornication, vices, and bawdy tavern songs, so maybe not quite the departure I’m hoping for). We’ll see.

Anyway, if there’s a book or type of book that you’d like me to review, I am open to suggestions, coercion, and demands. The Lovely Bones, The Canterbury Tales, Watchmen, All Quiet on the Western Front, Tom Sawyer, Mastering Multiple Position Sex, The Golden Compass, A Farewell to Arms, Twelfth Night, Herland, there’s a lot of directions to go in here, so let me know what strikes your forbidden fancy.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About boundandgaggedbooks

Shannon is a freelance writer and folklore buff. She has a degree from Hampshire College in Creative Writing/Mythology & Religion, with an emphasis on epic/oral traditions, their anthropological implications, and their modern counterparts. Her work can be found in Fabulously Feminist, Wolf Wariors: The National Wolfwatcher Coalition Anthology, The Concord Monitor, Redhead Magazine, and The Climax.

2 responses to “And The Banned Played On”

  1. nightwing17 says :

    I’d love to see a review of Watchmen.

    I also took a quick look on the ALA website and I thought I’d suggest a few books. In trying to think of things with different issues of censorship attached I considered suggesting that you look at books banned by governments rather than the more common school library, but in the end I realized that there’s probably a great deal of overlap. I did manage to find one that I think meets both criteria though. My sister raved about Lolita after she read it and it’s had a pretty intense history of challenges and bans. I think that subject matter could lend itself to, if not an entirely different review, at least a more focused one.

    On the other end of the spectrum there’s another book about a man in a relationship with a much younger woman that’s done much better for itself. While I hate to force you to read it if you don’t want to, there is always Twilight. After all, despite its mass appeal Twilight has been frequently challenged, officially by those who worry about it’s occult and sexual content, and unofficially who worry about its gender dynamics and effect on reading and media. The problem, for both sides, is, of course, that, when it comes to censorship, it’s hard to pick and choose with any ethical consistency.

    • boundandgaggedbooks says :

      Thank you for the suggestions! I’ve been meaning to read Watchmen and Lolita, so I’ll be sure to put them both on my list of things to borrow/buy/take out from the library. I have been putting off reviewing Twilight, even though I know it’s inevitable. I’ve even been thinking about what I’d say about the book or series, and trying to come up with something other than “RAAAAGE. Set it on fire. P.S. Banning books isn’t cool.’ Is the whole series banned or just the first one? Hmmm… I’ll look into that because I think the second book has the most abusive/disconcerting content. Although that would mean finishing the series. Eek. Anyway, thanks again for the input!

Leave a Reply

