We The Readers

Namaste, readers. I hope all of my East Coast readers are okay tonight. Between the low temperatures and the incoming Nor’easter, my thoughts are with those of you who are still without power. We are Americans, though, and we will get through this the only way we can: together. I tip my hat to all of the volunteers out there and everyone who has donated or taken in evacuees. You are all heroes.

Speaking of everyday heroes, I also hope that all of my American readers had a chance to read that most banned piece of literature: the ballot. No matter who you voted for, I hope you appreciate how many people have fought, died, protested, and suffered for the right to vote, not just in this country but throughout the world. As cynical as I may be, at my core I truly believe in the dream of those 18th century upstarts in Philadelphia and am truly thankful that I live in a place where I can have a voice in government.

While this may not seem related to my blog, voter suppression and book censorship both boil down to the same philosophical issue: can people be trusted with information and to come to their own, informed conclusions or should they instead be told what to think or do? That is a question we have been asking, and killing over, since the dawn of civilization and will likely always struggle with. So readers and voters must always struggle back and stand up for our own intellectual freedom.

Unfortunately, between the storm, the election, and other obligations/life stresses, I was unable to procure Blood and Chocolate, so I apologize for the lack of review. I will hopefully have more up soon. Thanks for reading and stay warm, friends.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About boundandgaggedbooks

Shannon is a freelance writer and folklore buff. She has a degree from Hampshire College in Creative Writing/Mythology & Religion, with an emphasis on epic/oral traditions, their anthropological implications, and their modern counterparts. Her work can be found in Fabulously Feminist, Wolf Wariors: The National Wolfwatcher Coalition Anthology, The Concord Monitor, Redhead Magazine, and The Climax.

Leave a Reply

