Bards Behind Bars

Hey, folks! I hope you’ve been enjoying Banned Books Week! There are read-outs in bookstores across America, the Virtual Read-Out is going strong, and about half the blogs I follow have dedicated some post to the matter. Once again, it’s also Friday and that means it’s FridayReads, where people share what they’re reading every Friday to promote literacy.

I’ve been reading The Harp of the Grey Rose. It’s Charles de Lint’s first book and it shows, but, despite his green pen and the 80s influence, already this man has promise. It seems Charles de Lint has divined everything I love and each page is an attempt to seduce me. There are bards, there’s magic, there’s folk culture and folk songs, and there’s even a delightful bromance between an interracial fey-blooded harper and an archaeologist bear. What more could you ask for?

And, though the pacing and plot is quite ‘sword and sorcery,’ de Lint’s writing has cultural and historical depth to rival the high fantasy masters. This book also has the same folksy vernacular and conversational tone that my first introduction to de Lint, Wolf Moon, did. It’s like walking into The Green Dragon and having a charming albeit slightly intoxicated local tell you a story over a pint. I have made it my new life goal to become a prominent enough figure in the fantasy/sci-fi industry that I can have Charles de Lint for tea.

But I digress, what are you reading? Did you do anything for Banned Books Week? Whether you went to a read-out, made book-themed cupcakes, or just curled up with a good book, I want to hear about it. As Banned Books Week draws to a close I want to thank everyone for stopping in, reading my blog, and being a part of the thirtieth annual week dedicated to intellectual freedom.

I was going to post my review of The Giver tonight, but this week was kind of crazy and I’m behind schedule. I’ll have it up sometime this weekend. I won’t be doing a review next Friday since it’s crunch time at work, but later this month you can look forward to reviews of Scary Stories, Goosebumps, and Blood and Chocolate. Until then, enjoy the rest of Banned Books Week and the fiery glory that is Autumn. Waes hael.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About boundandgaggedbooks

Shannon is a freelance writer and folklore buff. She has a degree from Hampshire College in Creative Writing/Mythology & Religion, with an emphasis on epic/oral traditions, their anthropological implications, and their modern counterparts. Her work can be found in Fabulously Feminist, Wolf Wariors: The National Wolfwatcher Coalition Anthology, The Concord Monitor, Redhead Magazine, and The Climax.

Leave a Reply

