Friends, Romans, Librarians!

“You don’t have to burn books to destroy a culture. Just get people to stop reading them.”
– Ray Bradbury

Friends, Romans, librarians, welcome (back) to Bound and Gagged, a blog dedicated to banned, censored, and challenged books. As you may or may not know, Banned Books Week begins this Sunday.

When barraged by a sea of chain Facebook posts, a friend of mine once remarked that it seemed to be Banned Books Week every couple days. Well I wish it was. Censorship and anti-intellectualism have scared me since first I encountered Mr. Bradbury’s work in my local library and reading is a lifelong passion of mine (I was very competitive with my elementary school’s Book-It program and my library’s summer reading contests).

Alas, one week a year is a more sustainable period of time in which to spread awareness of how we (Yes we. The idea to ban a book usually comes from parents or outraged readers, not from some sinister Big Brother mandate) keep others from ideas we don’t like, ideas that scare us, or that we don’t think are appropriate for certain age groups.

To help spread awareness and to celebrate intellectual freedom, libraries, and general bookworminess, I will be posting related content throughout the week. Since half of the battle is just getting people to read and enjoy reading, I thought I’d start of with some audience participation for FridayReads.

FridayReads, as stated in a post earlier this week, promotes literacy and a love of reading by calling on people to share what they’re reading via social media. Post it, tweet it, pin it, dig it, wuphf it, whatever. Thus, I am calling on you, dear reader, to join me in their efforts. I welcome you to leave a comment. Tell me what you’re reading, what you just read, or even what your favorite book is. It doesn’t have to be banned, but feel free to make suggestions if you’ve read a banned book lately (or ever) and want to see a review.

To find out more about FridayReads, check them out on Facebook.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About boundandgaggedbooks

Shannon is a freelance writer and folklore buff. She has a degree from Hampshire College in Creative Writing/Mythology & Religion, with an emphasis on epic/oral traditions, their anthropological implications, and their modern counterparts. Her work can be found in Fabulously Feminist, Wolf Wariors: The National Wolfwatcher Coalition Anthology, The Concord Monitor, Redhead Magazine, and The Climax.

4 responses to “Friends, Romans, Librarians!”

  1. bandaloopdeloop says :

    only 40 minutes until Banned Book Week! EEEEE!

    • boundandgaggedbooks says :

      Let the Hunger Games begin! May the books be ever in your library.

      • boundandgaggedbooks says :

        Nice. 1) Katherine Heigl is just about the worst thing to happen to feminism (except Twilight and Sarah Palin/Nikki Haley) 2) I hate pretty much anything marketed at women. It always fails and always comes across as condescending. Just look at any video game marketed at women from Cooking Mama (of course the business version was for dad) to Barbie Horse Adventure. Or how father’s day ads feature iPads while mother’s day ads feature Romcoms and chocolate. My personal pet peeve is places like Superherostuff.com. I love Superherostuff’s products, but the way they market to women (or men buying things for women as they seem to suggest) disgusting. I could rant about it forever, so I’ll stop myself now.

Leave a Reply

