Reader Beware, You’re in For a Scare

Greetings, readers new and old. As my readership seems to have doubled overnight, I want to take the time to thank you for reading, commenting, and following, whether you’ve been with me since the first banned book review over a year ago or just stumbled across me this week. If you haven’t already figured it out, this blog is dedicated to banned books, censorship/intellectual freedom issues, and other assorted geekery and media. Feel free to browse the archives and get to know me, my other talented writers, and the blog a little better.

As my older readers will remember and my new readers may have discovered, I reviewed 90s kid horror classics Goosebumps and Scary Stories last October. Thus, I thought I should share this bit of excellent news from The Mary Sue with you. Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark is going to be a movie! And, apparently, a Goosebumps movie is already is the works.

It seems studios are tapping into 90s nostalgia and I, for one, am thrilled. I’m not sure how they are going to adapt these non-linear stories into a cohesive whole, but if they can get two movies out of a picture book about meatballs, use a fictional textbook as the inspiration for a projected film series, and somehow adapt The Simarillion to film, then why not?

As Scary Stories is banned, in no small part for its artwork, I’m curious to see what they do with it. Given the people involved, however, it doesn’t seem like they’ll be pulling any punches. I imagine Goosebumps will be a bit campier. In the meantime, you can get your nostalgia on with this video about the worst Goosebumps episodes ever.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About boundandgaggedbooks

Shannon is a freelance writer and folklore buff. She has a degree from Hampshire College in Creative Writing/Mythology & Religion, with an emphasis on epic/oral traditions, their anthropological implications, and their modern counterparts. Her work can be found in Redhead Magazine, The Concord Monitor, and The Climax.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,788 other followers

